Sunday, June 17, 2018

Red as Cherry: Lunar Tides Blood Moon Review

Camille Sigrid

What's up peeps - long time no write! It's been a busy last couple of weeks (mainly because new beau! lol!) and to be honest I'm waiting to max out the trial period for this new dye I got. Yes - it took that long to fade!

I got the Lunar Tides Blood Moon from The Shop of Alice in Shopee (tsoaph) but as of writing, she has not restocked. Anyway, Lunar Tides is available in the usual online shops like Rainbowhead and Urban Mermaid if you also want to get your hands on it.



How I did it:
  • I was newly bleached at the time and at level 8-9.
  • I mixed about 1 part dye, 1 part conditioner.
  • I dyed it normally - back part first and working my way up.
  • I let it sit for about an hour.
  • I washed it with cold water then blow dry to lowest setting.


Aaaaand this is what I got:



Review points:

It bleeds. A lot.

I'm the kind of gal who would take the brush for the first few streaks of color and just goes, "fuck it" and kinda shampoos the dye na lang cuz I'm lazy LOL so it tends to get messy when I'm dyeing. When I was cleaning up while waiting for the dye to set I tried to wipe off the little streaks on my forehead and nape AND THEY WOULDN'T COME OFF WITH JUST WET WIPES. I knew right then that this kinda dye bleeds, and true enough - as I stepped into the shower the next day the water going into the shower drain pretty much looks like what it would if someone was stabbed in the rain (not that I know what that would look like...)

Anyway yes, the dye bleeds so you might wanna skip the white pillowcases for at least 4 showers. In my experience, it has been 5-6 showers and it still bleeds even when I shampoo with non-sulfate.


If you're bleached properly, bright red can be bright af

I DIY-ed my bleach this time (!!! Another post!!!) and I got it to level 8-9 which is pretty blonde - almost white because I wanted to really test this dye and get super bright red. It did not disappoint lol. This is what it looks like when the sun hits it:



Of course, with lower levels of blonde you would get a less saturated color and an easier fade.


It lasts long and fades nicely.

Two weeks in I had to shampoo my hair almost every day (damn waxy pillow, you know who you are lmao) when I would usually only do it every other day. Still, I still have a tinge of red/pink/salmon a month after. I made a timeline for y'all:

 (Note: I use non-sulfate shampoos from Human Nature and ordinary conditioner and slow blow dry my hair, tho I use regular shampoo once every week.)


2-3 showers

5-6 showers 

9-10 showers

14-16 showers

18-20 showers (3 weeks in)

22-24 showers

26-28 showers (more than 1 month for me)



LMAO I shower everyday (or do I?) but as any other hair color enthusiast will tell you, shampoo will make your semi permanent hair color fade faster so you will have to use non-sulfate shampoo or just don't wash your hair every day or both.
I like how the red fades nicely to a pink, salmony color with a few streaks of rose-gold/blonde in parts where the sun hits it (heat makes it color fade too), much like how the neon pink fades.


Lunar Tides is cheap.

I got mine for P600 a tub and I used about 3 tablespoons of dye that made me happy for more than a month LOL so I would say it's definitely a steal. If you wanna keep it bright tho you'll have to dye like twice a month but still.


Final Verdict:
🌟🌟🌟🌟

All in all I like this brand and this color and will definitely try to get my hands on the others soon. Catch y'all next time!



Monday, April 9, 2018

The operative word here is "now"

Camille Sigrid


(Yo, I found something I wrote in 2015 but never publish for some reason. Still relevant, I think.)


For some reason, I came upon an interesting thought while standing inside a crowded bus at midnight, listening to Amy Adams sing “That's How You Know” from the Disney movie, Enchanted. I'm really not sure how I arrived at this, but I'm just gonna give it a go.

Why am I being too hard on myself?

Why is it that ever since I graduated from college I had this nagging feeling telling me to move my ass and start being successful? I've always been ambitious; basically that's the only thing fueling my desire to be successful (there isn't much outside pressure, really), but lately it's been really browbeating, like the pressure's been amped to ten times as ever. Grabe. Everyday it's like there's a post it at the back of my brain reminding me to work hard, earn big, get to your dreams now.

The operative word here is now.

As young adults, we're idealistic, especially our generation. We want to have most things, go most places, do most hobbies and still have the most leisure time. We browse online catalogs and review websites planning what to do next, even if our schedules are booked to the minute. And when we find that we don't have enough time or money for basically everything, it frustrates us (I read somewhere that young adults are more frustrated with this than any other age group; I'll look the article up so you can read if you're interested). Our frustration is then amplified by our idealism, which is usually directed to the self. You may say that this frustration to achieve during young adulthood is normal.

Why then, the emphasis on having everything now?

Actually, I have yet to read about this. For now, let's stick to IMHO's.



Powered by Blogger.