I know I haven't updated in a long while, but for some reason I missed writing and blogging and stuff so here I am!
OKAY SO STORY TIME...
I've always wanted to dye my hair a pretty color. Like, pink or green. Ganern. I figured that if it's something I really want to do, I should do it now while I'm in my twenties; mainly because I've been told that this kind of lifestyle is like really expensive and I felt like I won't have time to do it anymore if I waited a few more years (kind of exaggerated but wth).
So I read about everything--the dyes, the bleaching, how to maintain, DIYs etc. That was sometime November.
the only other time I had done anything to my hair was around New Years 2016 (so around a year ago) and all I had done was a reddish ombre. I was so psyched with just a little difference in my hair, so you could just imagine how I reacted to a full head of blonde lol.
I had my hair bleached for the first time at a salon. I figured it's not too expensive naman (around P500), and I'd like to see how they do it. And I learned:
1. Do not wash your hair at least a day before bleaching. The hair oils thing is legit.
2. Your scalp will itch, or worse, burn. So do the oil thing.
3. Let your hair rest before doing anything on top of the bleach.
In reference to item # 3, I did wait an entire week before I had my second round of bleaching. My hair was about three shades away from what I wanted to accomplish.
| About a month before bleaching (yay! birthday!) |
![]() |
| Two days after bleaching (my first day at the office as blonde. AFAM daw lol) |
To me it looked pretty. All the yellow-ness looked pretty to me. I didn't know what brassy was.
BUT DAMN DID IT DAMAGE MY HAIR. IT FELT LIKE STRAW THE NEXT DAY WHEN I SHOWERED. I NEVER HAD HAIR THIS DRY (MY HAIR WAS ALMOST VIRGIN BEFORE I HAD IT BLEACHED). Dati, shampoo lang, okay na. Now I can't leave the bathroom without putting conditioner. #deds
Anyway, I had my hair bleached the second time after a week. I was hesitant to go back to the same salon because he let my hair soak in the stuff for more than an hour. Sabi sa research, it should take about 20-40 minutes lang. I went to other salons but all of them told me it would take two hours minimum (application + soak), which I think is too damaging... and they're also hella expensive (P1.5k on just bleach, compared to P500). Oh well.
And so off I went to the salon again. I asked Nicole, my stylist, to just do it in 30 minutes. She was okay naman, it was my hair anyway. Lessons learned:
1. Know the stuff your hairstylists use.
2. Feel free to tell them that you feel bleach shouldn't be in your hair for more than an hour.
3. Bring something to do lol
![]() |
| This was hours after the second bleaching |
Oh well.
So bottomline: I am blonde, and the story of how I DIY-ed my toner is another story.
Lovelots,





























